Author Topic: Playing UO again and learning  (Read 2577 times)

Offline niko084Topic starter

• Activity:
    0%
  • Reputation Power: 1
  • niko084 has no influence.
  • Respect: 0
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
Playing UO again and learning
« on: December 30, 2016, 03:45:04 PM »
I started UO back when a single e'bolt would kill most people and played official servers for about 13 years, as well as off and on private servers. I started working with easyuo around 2002, primarily learned to script by reworking other peoples scripts, eventually was able to create a few of my own. I've bounced through many games and still play games like Battlefield 4, TitanFall 2, StarCraft 2, I played a number of other MMOs but never got into anything like UO again... So I'm back to playing!

Today, I work in IT and want to get a spot on an engineering team, this is where UO comes in! One of a few things I'm going to have to learn a few languages. Scripting has always been something I've been able to do but never proficient. I figure being I'm playing with UO again I'll use the chance to get back into scripting again, learn some more, and apply it where I can.

My UO life has been vast, I played Baja, Atlantic, Legends, Siege, Great Lakes, Chesapeake, Pacific and Europa. A few guilds I was in for awhile did a fair bit of shard transferring, following the PVP. It's crazy how the styles and builds varied from server to server. I played everything, I had 1 character I had the claim of training every skill to the cap on (including eating those 120s), 7 accounts, every character trained and geared. Aw, those were the days... (You know before having to adult)

These days my time is limited, but what I can do is work on scripts while I'm at work in my downtime. There is a fair bit of that.

So that's why I'm hear, back to UO, have time to script, and an external reason to learn.

--- Other things ---