Author Topic: Web development help (I want to learn a little more)  (Read 11025 times)

Offline OMGBurgersTopic starter

• Activity:
    0%
  • Reputation Power: 7
  • OMGBurgers has no influence.
  • Respect: +44
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
Web development help (I want to learn a little more)
« on: June 18, 2008, 10:48:10 AM »
+1
Hey all,

I was just helping my brother do his website for all his artwork and stuff before he goes back to college.  I'm pretty good with just using something like frontpage/dreamweaver & i'm pretty good with flash, but there is still a lot I could do, but I can't because I don't know which direction to take.

I started programming in basic back in my middle school days, and slowly got into c++ for a bit.  I have yet to do any programming of any sort really in about 4 years.

I'm wondering what would be best to start to learn, or pick up on a little so I can do some 'neat' little things on my web pages when I need.  Last night I got into some javascripting to do some basic things like moving/resizing/hiding layers and doing opacity changes and fade in/outs on components.  I'd like to be able to create some nice popup-menus and all if the occasion arrives, and I would hate to use someone elses generic 'free code' when I could do it myself with a bit of study & practice.  Is javascript the way to go, or is there a better language I could learn that has a bit more power?

I don't know much about web scripting/programming at all really lol, just html & flash, and I'm not 'that that' amazing at flash ;x.

Would be good if anyone has any input :).

I can get ahold of most software pretty cheap if I need any.  My brother has a lot from school that he don't even use, and gets it pretty cheap.

Offline Tidus

• Lazy
  • Administrator
  • Activity:
    0%
  • Reputation Power: 15
  • Tidus is working their way up.Tidus is working their way up.Tidus is working their way up.
  • Mind Blown
  • Respect: +151
  • Referrals: 2
    • View Profile