Official ScriptUO EasyUO Scripts > Scripting Chat

NameSpace Question: Maintaining namespace integrity with many:many relationship.

(1/3) > >>

lydaan:
I, like probably many, was very confused and intimidated by NameSpace management for a long time. I recently started managing sub-variable integrity manually, and the relevance of namespaces finally became clear.

Instead of passing variables %0-%n to a static %sub_variable, and then deleting them at the exit of the sub, EUO already has tools to manage this for you. By declaring a local namespace for the sub and clearing it and recalling the previous namespace, all that legwork is handled for you (for the majority of scenarios).

My question has to do with push/pop and I'm looking for confirmation or correction on what I understand to be limitations. I am not an expert, but I believe I have the logic of namespace worked out.

--- Quote ---*FYI*: For the context of this thread I will assume that any Sub will populate a sub-local namespace, and as such I will purposefully conflate "namespace," with "sub." I want to frame namespace management in the context of sub-local variable management so that namespaces novices like myself can more easily interpret a namespace use case.

This will likely be most people's first experience/need for NameSpace Management. The NameSpace function has more usages than sub-variable management, but grasping this specific usage will translate to understanding when other uses are necessary.

*Properly defining "many," without making assumptions (every sub will populate a sub-local namespace) quickly degrades into a recursive argument nightmare.
--- End quote ---

For those unfamiliar with NameSpace Push and Pop:
;---------------------------------------------------------------