Author Topic: Time to take the plunge  (Read 12367 times)

Offline 12TimesOverTopic starter

• Another Day, Another Vendetta
  • Global Moderator
  • Activity:
    0%
  • Reputation Power: 41
  • 12TimesOver is a force to reckon with.12TimesOver is a force to reckon with.12TimesOver is a force to reckon with.12TimesOver is a force to reckon with.12TimesOver is a force to reckon with.12TimesOver is a force to reckon with.12TimesOver is a force to reckon with.12TimesOver is a force to reckon with.
  • Respect: +321
  • Referrals: 2
    • View Profile
Time to take the plunge
« on: October 22, 2012, 04:51:37 AM »
+1
I've decided to take the plunge and start learning a new programming language. Based on my background in MS technologies I thought the best jump for me would be to step off into VB.NET and C#.

I'm looking into my options for obtaining a licensed copy of Visual Studio because I thought this might be the best starting point but, of course, not being a developer by trade I can't justify the costs. I'm looking into options I have at work through our MSDN subscription but my job title is Lead Infrastructure Engineer so they may not want to help me out.

Any advice as to other ways to LEGALLY obtain licensing for Visual Studio? Any advice as to other options for VB.NET or C# development platforms? I would prefer to go the route of something that is seen as more standardized in the industry as I'd like the skills I begin to develop to be job-market applicable, including the development platform/s I get accustomed to.

Gracias mucho mis amigos!

X
When they come for me I'll be sitting at my desk
     with a gun in my hand wearing a bulletproof vest
My, my, my how the time does fly
     when you know you're gonna die by the end of the night

Offline gimlet

• Very Super Secret
  • Global Moderator
  • Activity:
    3%
  • Reputation Power: 71