Author Topic: I Didn't Realise How Good UO Was Until Now  (Read 2087 times)

Offline MishmashTopic starter

• Activity:
    0%
  • Reputation Power: 1
  • Mishmash has no influence.
  • Respect: 0
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
I Didn't Realise How Good UO Was Until Now
« on: July 16, 2011, 09:27:47 AM »
Hi, I'm Pip and have just returned to UO after several years away.

I started playing at around the release of T2A. I'd been aware of UO for a while before having played the stand alone Ultima games from IV onwards but was unwilling to risk the expected high telephone bill from the PAYG internet service that was available at the time. As soon as a fixed price unlimited download service was available we (my wife and I) started an account. After a month I started a second account for myself and then my son started an account too, (3 networked PCs in the house, that poor modem earned it's keep).

WE played mainly on Europa although I also spent a bit of time on Siege as the game play became increasingly restricted for my thief character. Although I did try a little PvP I sucked at it Royally so am a confirmed Trammelite these days.

Of course, like everyone else we were looking for ways to avoid repetitive strain injuries. I smiled in recognition at the mention, in other posts, of rolls of coins holding keys down to repeat macros. In my case it was an old nail varnish bottle (the wifes not mine, no really, it was, "Blush Pink" so not my shade at all). As time went on we found our days being scheduled around powerhour to get that 0.5 gain in Smithing as you burnt your way through 10K of ingots. It must have been about then that I finally let go the last vestiges of any anti-scripting feeling I had and sought out EasyUO.