Author Topic: Is it ok to post a old script from EasyUO that is unsupported?  (Read 3827 times)

Offline CanukerTopic starter

• Activity:
    0%
  • Reputation Power: 7
  • Canuker has no influence.
  • Respect: +37
  • Referrals: 2
    • View Profile
Is it ok to post a old script from EasyUO that is unsupported?
« on: February 03, 2011, 06:40:38 PM »
I have a old script that I am sure is still on those boards but I want to ask some advise on modding it do something different. I'm far from a expert on doing such but just want to see if I am on the correct path.  Is this cool?
Nope!  I'm doing what all the real PvPers do:  Scripting everything except the running away part!  I'm real good at that already...

Scrripty

Re: Is it ok to post a old script from EasyUO that is unsupported?
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2011, 06:45:26 PM »
It's generally a bad idea to post someones code in whole from anywhere without their permission.  Posting a snippet that needs editing is fine tho I'm sure. 

Offline TrailMyx

• Officially retired from UO
  • Administrator
  • Activity:
    0.6%
  • Reputation Power: 154
  • TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!
  • Viper!
  • Respect: +1349
  • Referrals: 33
    • View Profile
    • ScriptUO
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2011, 06:49:33 PM »
We typically try like hell to get some contact with the previous author.  If it was once posted on EUO or the author has an account there, we've had the potential new author contact the original author via PMs at EUO.  Then the original author can contact me there (Miffy) for the OKs.

Otherwise, we enforce the "If you didn't write it, don't post it." approach.
Please read the ScriptUO site RULES
Come play RIFT with me!

• Activity: