Author Topic: Learning Perl  (Read 14197 times)

Offline XclioTopic starter

• Officially "The MAN"
  • Elite
  • Activity:
    0%
  • Reputation Power: 9
  • Xclio has no influence.
  • Respect: +56
  • Referrals: 1
    • View Profile
Learning Perl
« on: July 10, 2008, 10:59:11 AM »
So I have dabbled in a bit of stuff here and there but I have decided it is time to actually learn perl.  I have alot of freedom in what I can do at work regarding this but I can't think of anything "useful" to create, I have all the licenses in the world to create basically any file I want but I need something to be useful but it also needs to really challenge me and force me to learn about every aspect of perl I can think of.  Help me out with some ideas!

For ideas consider I am a Network Systems Security Engineer, basically in charge of network security for the US Navy.

Offline Tidus

• Lazy
  • Administrator
  • Activity:
    0%
  • Reputation Power: 15
  • Tidus is working their way up.Tidus is working their way up.Tidus is working their way up.
  • Mind Blown
  • Respect: +151
  • Referrals: 2
    • View Profile
    • Ultimate Apparel
Re: Learning Perl
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2008, 11:05:49 AM »
Well i don't know exactly what perl does or what it is capable of.  So i wouldn't know what to ask for "in a project sense".
For those who have fought for it, freedom has a taste the protected will never know ~ Anonymous, Vietnam, 1968

Offline TrailMyx

• Officially retired from UO
  • Administrator
  • Activity:
    0%
  • Reputation Power: 154
  • TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!
  • Viper!
  • Respect: +1349
  • Referrals: 33
    • View Profile
    • ScriptUO
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2008, 11:25:36 AM »