Author Topic: Sub in a Sub???  (Read 8247 times)

Offline xxcaptainxxTopic starter

• Activity:
    0%
  • Reputation Power: 0
  • xxcaptainxx has no influence.
  • Respect: +1
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
Sub in a Sub???
« on: August 26, 2008, 07:00:26 AM »
can you have a sub within a sub???  i think so but i would hate to waste a lot of time trying to code an uncodeable :)  thanks all

Offline talkmill

• Activity:
    0%
  • talkmill has no influence.
  • Respect: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Sub in a Sub???
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2008, 07:16:03 AM »
I'm not a pro at this at all but did some tests. Some pro please correct me if i'm wrong but it seems like:

Code: [Select]
sub test1
sub test2
return
return

work the same way as:

sub test1
return

sub test2
return

What exactly is it you are trying to acomplish?

• Activity:
    0%
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2008, 07:22:18 AM »
Well in one of my subs i want to check if i have a certain resource and then if i don't i want to run another sub to restock it

Offline TrailMyx

• Officially retired from UO
  • Administrator
  • Activity:
    0.2%
  • Reputation Power: 154
  • TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!TrailMyx is awe-inspiring!
  • Viper!
  • Respect: +1349
  • Referrals: 33
    • View Profile
    • ScriptUO
« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2008, 08:42:06 AM »
Sub in a sub is bad form.  I never do it; it makes code difficult to read and harder to debug but can work if you implement it correctly.  I would stay away from that kind of programming practice is I was you.

With that said, even some coding pros (Kal In Ex) use subs in subs.  I guess if you know what you are doing then you can do anything...