Author Topic: Back at it again  (Read 1822 times)

Offline SinbadSailingTopic starter

• Activity:
    0%
  • Reputation Power: 1
  • SinbadSailing has no influence.
  • Respect: +1
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
Back at it again
« on: May 27, 2016, 10:50:12 PM »
Hello, I am SinbadSailing.  Apologies for getting a bit nostalgic below, but it somehow felt good to write it all down.

I started playing UO in 2003. Played almost exclusively on ABCUO for 6 years, along with a few brief side-ventures into other freeshards, the only memorable one being Xanadu. Didn't play any UO from 2010-2014, but in early 2015 I decided to install the game and check out some of the free shards that were still around. Alas, real life got in the way and I couldn't get as deep into the game as I'd like. Things have settled down now and I am making another attempt at the game that dominated my life for so many years.

I had some great times back in the day with a few irl friends who were were also obsessed with UO. We were young and ignorant and computer illiterate, but our experience was probably more fun for it.

We didn't know about Ventrilo, so we would have a group call on our primitive cell phones every afternoon after school while we played from our respective homes, having to hang up every so often to let the phones cool down.

We didn't know about Razor/UOAssist macroing, but we spent days digging through the in-game macro tool once we found it in the options menu. (I can make a hotkey to pick more flax!)

We certainly didn't know about EasyUO.